St Bede’s is one of Ampleforth’s four longest standing houses, located on Aumit Hill with views overlooking the valley.

The house was founded in 1926 as a boys’ boarding house before the first girls moved into the carefully renovated building in 2006. Previous Housemasters include Cardinal Basil Hume. The house can cater for over 60 girls.  First year students are accommodated in dormitories of four, they then share in the next two years and the sixth form have study rooms, many with en-suite shower rooms.

Mrs Caroline Day is the Housemistress of St Bede’s House and lives there with her husband Simon, their son Oscar and the House dog Dolly (resident Cavapoo). Caroline was appointed to the English department in 2016 and teaches mainly sixth-form English Literature. She holds a BA (Hons) in English and History and has pastoral and teaching experience in both the public and private sector.

About St Bede

The Venerable Bede (673-735) was the greatest scholar of his age and of the English Church. Born in Monkton, Jarrow, Bede went to live in St Peter’s monastery in Wearmouth at the age of seven. He later moved to the new foundation in Jarrow, where he remained as a Benedictine monk for the rest of his life. Bede is best known for his Ecclesiastical History of the English People, completed in 731, one of the greatest sources for the history of Anglo-Saxon England. Saint Bede is buried in Durham Cathedral.